The Judging Process

There is a panel of judges who reviews qualified nominations. The panel consists of previous winners and/or respected individuals, community leaders, professionals, etc. The panel of judges are presented to the public during the Awards Night.

Judging is done online. Qualified nominations are allocated to the panel of judges to review and judge according to a defined set of criterias and its weighted percentage. The judging portal is a web-based tool with embedded scoring and judging algorithm that allows judges to navigate and perform their judging/scoring tasks.

A detailed judging report is generated by the system. It is then validated by an affiliated accounting group, AFCA (Association of Filipino Canadian Accountants).

Past GBA Judges

Lt. Col. Joseph Nonato

Canadian Forces

Leslie Gatan

Ret. Philippine Ambassador

Dr. Philip Kelley

Director, York Centre for Asian Research at York University

Raffy Policarpio

Country Head, LBC

Dr. Dana Osborne

Professor, Ryerson University

Maria Roseni Alvero

Sr Trade Commissioner, DTI Toronto

Leon Miguel

Award-winning Actor

Shane Ericks

YouTube sensation, the Karen Carpenter of the Philippines

Louroz Mercader

Co-founder of RISE Tribe

Arlene Oliveros

The first Filipino sommelier in Canada

Charles Gluckstein

Gluckstein Lawyers

Steve Pagao

President, PCCO

Michael Lublin

Founder – Chainsmoker Urban Halal Barbecue

Michele Serrano

Vice-President, PCCO

Evie Poliarco

Founding President, FCHRD

Darin Hoffman

Businessman (Winnipeg)

Josie De Leon

CEO, JDL School of Performing Arts

Annie Chua

GBA 2017 Awardee

Romi Mananquil

GBA 2017 Awardee

Christopher David

GBA 2017 Awardee

Agnes Miranda

GBA 2017 Awardee

Patrick Alcedo

GBA 2017 Awardee

Raffy Ramiro

GBA 2017 Awardee

Zenee May-Maceda

GBA 2017 Awardee

Edgardo Gonzales

World Vision Canada

Judith Slivinski

World Vision Canada

Eno Mescallado-Kalash

GBA 2018 Awardee

Jane Paguiao

GBA 2018 Awardee

Janeth Valenciano

GBA 2018 Awardee

Judianne Jayme

GBA 2018 Awardee

Loizza Aquino

GBA 2018 Awardee

Marissa Bumanlag

GBA 2018 Awardee

Mike Cruz

GBA 2018 Awardee

Paulina Corpuz

GBA 2018 Awardee